Day 4: OK, Game!

As of yesterday, the section of the residence that I’m staying in for the week has acquired a ping pong table. It was put to good use today by few of us volunteers and one of the Little Sisters, Sr. Rosario.

It all started with Sr. Rosario bursting into the recreation room included in our section and exclaiming she had just 5mins to pass and wanted to give ping pong a shot. She fooled us into thinking she was inexperienced, but she had some tricks up her sleeve and had us running to keep up with her shots. Every time the ball went off the table and we had to restart, she’d call out, “Ok… GAME!” or even counted “1, 2, 3…6!”

Sister extended her original 5min stay with us, and explained that she was waiting for a ride to visit a local parish with another sister to talk to youth and parents about the order. I assume that it was intended to be some sort of vocations talk. Sr. Rosario mentioned how some people don’t understand their mission or don’t know about it. She went on to say “How can you choose what you don’t know about? How do you choose red if you don’t know it’s a color?” I considered her comment a simple, yet profound statement about vocations. It basically summed up what others have told me about vocations, which is that you must be open to all options in order to know what you are called to in the end. I personally don’t believe that this route applies to everyone, as I’ve met people who off the bat knew what they were or weren’t called to consider as a vocation. Sister’s statement applies for those of us who do need a more well-rounded experience with each vocation for discernment.

Sister’s comment was not the first reference to vocations for me this week, as I’ve had a couple of brief talks on the topic with a friend and another resident, and multiple residents or sisters have referenced Mother Angelica when I introduced myself (I’m actually not sure if I prefer this over the Rugrats reference…).

Aside from the Nun Run I participated in my sophomore year, I haven’t given much serious thought to religious life as a vocation. Many relate to ASB as a life-changing experience. So far for me, it has been a great opportunity to step back and surround myself with new people and invest some time in service. Perhaps it may be too soon to say that this trip could potentially contribute to discernment in some way, but I trust that the upcoming experiences I will have with the residents and nuns will allow me to leave the week with a refreshed outlook on the discernment process. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

