Day 22: Nostalgia

IMG_20140328_195626

Occasionally I get random urges to clean out/explore the drawers of my desk and storage case. This basically consists of throwing out everything onto my floor to rummage through the collection and decide what needs to be given up.

This is not an easy task, as I am an infamous hoarder. The photo above is just a sample of all the retreat booklets and prayer cards, as well as birthday/Valentine’s Day/random cards I’ve collected over the past 4 years at BU. I like holding on to all these things because they are concrete mementos from an earlier phase in my life.

Looking through the collection, I can’t help feeling nostalgic for my first couple of years at BU. I miss the people behind the kind words and jokes written on the numerous cards I hold on to. Some of them fortunately are still around, but others have moved on. Nonetheless, I am very much grateful for meeting them all and love them dearly. They have helped shape who I have grown to be by senior year. They took me under their wings when I was freshman and sophomore, guided me with their wisdom, and, most importantly, taught me to love. All I can do is hope that I can follow their footsteps and one day shine as brightly as they do.

Leave a Reply

