Day 44: Return to Galilee

IMG_20140419_222553“… Jesus met them on their way and greeted them. They approached, embraced his feet, and did him homage. Then Jesus said to them, “Do not be afraid. Go tell my brothers to go to Galilee, and there they will see me.” Mt 28:19

In his homily at the Holy Saturday Vigil, our university chaplain emphasized how Jesus instructed his disciples to return to Galilee at the time of His Resurrection. In doing so, Christ was asking them to ” go back to the beginning”, since Galilee was where He had begun his ministry with His baptism. Our chaplain advised us to think back to a time when we had felt close to Christ, and to return to that place despite any falls in the faith that we have had.

The Triduum for me this Holy Week has lead me back to my own Galilee. From adoration on Holy Thursday until tonight, I have been granted the graces to rediscover love, faith and trust. My eyes have been opened to see how truly blessed I am, and my heart has been encouraged to be honest with myself, my relationships, and God. I have distanced myself quite a bit from Christ, but the Vigil brought back a powerful fervor for the faith I have not felt in a while.

For my friends reading this post, I ask for your prayers and support as I restart my faith journey.

One thought on “Day 44: Return to Galilee

Leave a Reply

