Day 96: A Reminder to be Grateful

20140517_175620

If I find something to be an inconvenience, my initial response is to look at it negatively. At first I am too stubborn to turn the situation around and see what I can get out of it or how it’s better than any other problem I could be in. Today’s Subway shift was one of those moments when I realized that I’m not as bad off as I sometimes consider myself to be.

I came into Subway upset about my shift schedule since it has kept me from seeing family during regular hours of the day. I had come home for the summer in order to spend time with them, and now I barely get any time to see them.

Along came a customer who was an interesting character from the start. He poked fun at me for greeting him with “Welcome to Subway!” by assuring me he knows where he is and that he is even certain of what planet he’s on. After I completed his order, he stuck around the register to have a conversation with me. I shared with him how I’m here for the summer and my plight of not being able to see my family. He then went on to tell me his life story to point out to me how he has never known what it means to have a family because of his estranged adopted parents. He told me I’m lucky that I don’t see my family because of a scheduling conflict none of us intended. He didn’t get to see his family because they didn’t care.

At the end of the conversation, I realized how fortunate I am to at least at the end of the day have a place to return to called home. Even if I do just get to see my dad in the car ride home from work, sit down with my mom for 20mins or so before she’s off to bed, and just shoot a quick hello to my brother before he closes himself up in his room, I should appreciate these short moments that I have and make the best of them.

Leave a Reply

