Down time on the T

imageI’m awful at scheduling productive “me” time. By “productive”, I mean pursuing something for my own sake, instead of focusing on school work, idling on Facebook, or dwelling on stress. In dealing with the pressure of graduate school, I’ve come to realize how important it is to fit in an activity to enjoy on a regular basis. I need a way to distract myself from both school and other personal concerns somehow!

I took advantage of the long T ride to a friend’s place tonight by bringing along a book I haven’t picked up in a while. I would have usually spent the time browsing on my phone or reflecting on recent contributors to stress. It was refreshing to occupy my mind with something more productive, to escape from my usual tendencies, and to enjoy a good story.

Leave a Reply

