Keepin it fresh on DWTS

image

Throughout high school, ABC’s Dancing with the Stars was part of my Monday and Tuesday evening routines. I loved the dynamic entertainment proving that anyone can learn to dance on a professional level. I always enjoyed imagining myself knowing how to dance as well as the performers and watching the animated judges firing their comments with bursting enthusiasm after each dance.

Tonight I happened to tune into the current season’s finale. I was thrilled to learn that Alfonso Ribeiro, who portrayed Carlton Banks on the 90’s show Fresh Prince of Bel Air, was in the top three contestants left. I caught his flawless performance, which was a fusion of the Cha Cha and the Argentine Tango to Walk the Moon’s Shut up and Dance. I was giddy in waiting for the announcement, enjoying reliving that anticipation that I would also experience when watching the competition in the teens. I was ecstatic when Ribeiro’s name was announced as the winner. It was moving to watch him¬†receiving the mirror ball trophy, emphasizing how he had waited ten years for the opportunity. Way to go, Ribeiro!

Leave a Reply

