A day to settle in

I had most of the day, and the family apartment, to myself today with my parents working and my brother just getting back into town. Except for getting up at one point to make breakfast and watch a little bit of Frasier, I allowed myself to stay in bed until a little past noon. I consider myself someone who’s always on the go, so I needed a few hours during which I could just lay comfortably in bed, letting it sink in that I don’t have any immediate responsibilities to attend to for the next few weeks. In addition, I kept my phone off for the most of the day, wanting to eliminate distractions so that I could enjoy some time to myself.

At some point I finally did get myself out of bed and started finding things to do, since I like to keep busy. I ended up assembling and decorating a plastic Christmas tree for my room and catching up on posts in this blog. The apartment got livelier for a bit once my brother got home. My dad recruited him to help bring in the live Christmas tree for the living room, and I was then asked to clean up the needles that were dropped all over the stairs. I ended up having more of the day to myself once my brother went to take a nap for a few hours. I spent the rest of the night with a nice simple dinner, watching Singin’ in the Rain, and chatting with a friend on Facebook.

Having a slower-paced, lazy day to myself helped me settle down at home for the break, reflect a little about the past semester, and reset back to the relaxed, and more pleasant, version of myself.

Leave a Reply

