Keeping Busy

I despise being still. I’m a thinker, so I need opportunities to move around in order to not get lost in my thoughts. I find solace in completing tasks, even ones that most people would find monotonous, that demand my concentration and prevent my mind from wandering too much.

Since it’s the holidays, I’ve been fortunate in finding ways of keeping myself busy in completing some of my favorite tasks. I’m not much of an arts and crafts person, but I do like to channel my creativity by trying out new dessert and dinner recipes for myself or for family gatherings. In preparing for the dinners we hosted this week, I took up the responsibility of setting the table with napkins folded neatly according to some design I found online. I’ve even enjoyed taking charge of some of the cleaning for the holiday, which included scrubbing down chairs and washing the floor in multiple rooms the old-fashioned way on my hands and knees. I was also lucky to receive a puzzle from my brother for Christmas, which is my favorite way of engaging my hands and attention. Each of these tasks have served as good distractions for me, and have offered successful outcomes that my family has enjoyed as well.

20141222_135607 20141224_232029 IMG_20141223_221248                                 IMG_20141224_120102    20141224_190511

Leave a Reply

